“The 1890 version of Anton Bruckner’s Symphony No. 8, the final version recognised by the composer himself, is more compact in its musical structure. In particular, the orchestration is better balanced and the tone contrast between the wind and string sections more apt, rendering the overall auditory effect more thrilling. We present this version to offer the Macao International Music Festival audience a most enjoyable musical experience.” – Lu Jia, Music Director of Macao Orchestra

The music director of the Macao Orchestra Lu Jia will join hands with the Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra to present Anton Bruckner's magnum opus – Symphony No. 8 in C Minor in this year's Music Festival. It is the longest symphony Bruckner had ever written and it deeply touches humans' feelings and inspirations. It is filled with lofty beliefs, religious zeal and deep philosophical reflections.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 15 minutes, no interval

A. Bruckner: Symphony No. 8 in C Minor, WAB 108

Conductor: Lu Jia
Macao Orchestra
Shanghai Philharmonic Orchestra

More details

Anton Bruckner Symphony No. 8

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2018-10-04 21:45

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.