The Hagen Quartet from Salzburg, Austria, consists of three siblings, Lukas, Veronika and Clemens Hagen, and German violinist Rainer Schmidt. This celebrated family-led ensemble has persisted for more than three decades. With its seamless family rapport, excellent performance technique, and precise interpretation, the Hagen Quartet is acclaimed as "the epitome of the string quartet."

Besides winning numerous awards, its live concerts are noted for thoughtful and well-orchestrated programming. In this year's Music Festival, it will bring to Macao audience, for two consecutive nights, German and Austrian classics – in which it excels – including representative works of Haydn, Schubert and Webern, a principal member of the 20th-century Viennese School, as well as esoteric quartet pieces composed by Beethoven in his late years. Music fans will go on a fantastic music journey, where they can savour different composers' styles and have a glimpse of the evolution of string quartet.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 40 minutes, including one interval

F. Schubert: String Quartet No. 13 in A Minor, D. 804 ("Rosamunde")
L. v. Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, op. 131

J. Haydn: String Quartet in D Minor, op. 76, No. 2 (“Quinten”)
A. Webern: Five Movements for String Quartet, op. 5
A. Webern: Six Bagatelles for String Quartet, op. 9
L. v. Beethoven: String Quartet No. 16 in F Major, op. 135

Lukas Hagen and Rainer Schmidt, Violins
Iris Hagen*, Viola
Clemens Hagen, Cello

* Due to injury of her right wrist, Veronika Hagan could not perform these two concerts and the viola part will be replaced by Iris Hagen.

More details

Hagen Quartet

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2018-10-04 21:45

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.