IFTM Council holds first-ever meeting

IFTM Council holds first-ever meeting

According to Macao’s Higher Education Regime, local tertiary education institutions are required to establish a general council. A number of prominent figures from the fields of tourism, hospitality, education and culture, drawn from either the Macao Special Administrative Region (MSAR) or outside, was recently appointed as members of the Council of the Macao Institute for Tourism Studies (IFTM). The appointments by the Chief Executive were via Chief Executive Dispatch No. 109/2020, published on 29 April 2020.

The IFTM Council also includes a representative from the Office of the Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture, top officials from various Macao Government departments, a representative of the IFTM Alumni Association, a representative of the IFTM Student Union, and staff from IFTM.

Mr. Chan Chak Mo, President of the United Association of Food and Beverage Merchants of Macao, has been appointed as Chair of the IFTM Council. Mr. Francis Lui Yiu Tung, Deputy Chairman of Galaxy Entertainment Group Ltd, was appointed Vice Chair.

Members of the IFTM Council include: Ms. Lam Wan Nei, as representative from the Office of the Secretary for Social Affairs and Culture; Mr. Sou Chio Fai, Director of the Higher Education Bureau; Mr. Lou Pak Sang, Director of the Education and Youth Affairs Bureau; Mr. Iong Kong Leong, Director of the Financial Services Bureau; Ms. Maria Helena de Senna Fernandes, Director of the Macao Government Tourism Office; Dr. Mok Ian Ian, President of the Cultural Affairs Bureau; Mr. Rutger Verschuren, President of the Macau Hotel Association; Mr. Guan Dehui, President of the Association of Macao Tourist Agents; Dr. Cheung Kin Chung, Secretary-General of the Macau Hoteliers and Innkeepers Association; Mr. Irwin Poon Yiu Win, Deputy President of the Macao Convention and Exhibition Association; Mr. Frederick Yip Wing Fat, President of the Macau Association of Retailers and Tourism Services; Ms. Chan Kin Iong, Senior Head of the Training Division of Macau International Airport Co. Ltd.; Mr. Liang Shuang, Vice President of Air Macau Co. Ltd.; Mr. Armando Amante, President of the IFTM Alumni Association; Lao Hou Cheng, representative of the IFTM Student Union; Dr. Fanny Vong, President of IFTM; Ms. Florence Ian, Vice President of IFTM; Ms. Diamantina Coimbra, Director of the IFTM School of Continuing Education; Dr. Leonardo Dioko, Professor at IFTM; and Dr. Connie Loi, Assistant Professor, as representative of the teaching staff at the Institute.

The first-ever meeting of the IFTM Council took place at Mong-Há Campus on 8 May. Council Chair Mr. Chan presided over the meeting. The meeting’s agenda included discussions on the outline development plan of IFTM and a review of the work reports and plans from several IFTM departments, plus the adoption of a set of internal regulations for the Council.

View gallery

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.