Macao expands suspension of Japanese food import to 12 prefectures

(Macao – 12 April 2011) In the wake of the Japanese authorities' raising of the nuclear incident at the Fukushima power plant to level 7 – the highest severity level, the Chief Executive, Mr Chui Sai On, has instructed the relevant departments in Macao to adopt corresponding measures to safeguard the health of the local population. Experts from the Food Safety Task Force met this evening and decided to expand the suspension of food import from the original five stricken prefectures in northeastern Japan to 12 prefectures following the unfolding event at the Fukushima power plant. The 12 prefectures include Chiba, Tochigi, Ibaraki, Gunma, Fukushima, Miyagi, Yamagata, Niigata, Nagano, Yamanashi, Saitama, and Tokyo. The Food Safety Task Force will continue to closely monitor the nuclear incident in Japan and further strengthen inspection of food products imported from Japan to ensure the health of Macao residents. Translation by
Government Information Bureau
Macao SAR

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.