Illustrating all kinds of worldly phenomena and reflecting the composers’ life experiences, music contemplates society and inspires people in a unique, abstract language with strong emotional impact. In this 2019-2020 season opening concert, the Macao Orchestra presents, in cooperation with internationally acclaimed cellist Alban Gerhardt, Dmitry Shostakovich’s “Cello Concerto No. 1, Op. 107”, a work that uses the clash between cello and ensemble as a metaphor for the struggle of individual vs society. The programme also features Antonin Dvorak’s fiery and enthusiastic“Carnival Overture”, which celebrates the eternal flame of life, and Tchaikovsky’s “Symphony No. 5” demonstrating the composer’s complete confrontation with fate. Don’t miss these three masterpieces!

More details

Alban Gerhardt and Macao Orchestra

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2019-04-29 17:51

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.