Each in their own unique style, Schubert and Brahms are both revered as the greatest masters of Austrian-German symphony music of the 19th century, fully displaying the spirit of Romanticism. In this concert, Macao Orchestra presents, on one hand, Brahms’s“Double Concerto For Violin and Cello in A minor”, the composer’s last concertante work, which features a mature technique and conveys deep emotions. On the other hand, the Schubert’s“Symphony No. 4”, a work that carries the composer’s sadness and thoughts at the young age of 19. Which one is likely to touch us more: Brahms’s late blossoming or the wisdom of the young Schubert?

More details

Brahms's Double Concerto

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2019-06-12 21:50

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.