Sejong Soloists has a deep commitment to nurturing the next generation of musical talent. In its second concert, the string orchestra will share the stage with Macao’s violin prodigy Sophia Su and perform Haydn’s Violin Concerto No. 1. It will perform the breathtaking Serenade for String Orchestra by Tchaikovsky, a work which was alluded to his idol Mozart, as well as a modern work by Korean composer Sukhi Kang premiered in 2006.

Sophia Su is the youngest winner of the Cultural Affairs Bureau Prize at the Macao Young Musicians Competition at the age of six in 2008. In 2012, she won the First Prize in the Yundi Macao Young Musicians Competition and in 2016, she was awarded the Third Prize at the International LOUIS SPOHR Competition for Young Violinists in Germany. She performed in Bravo Macao! at the Macao International Music Festival in 2015, and is currently studying at The Juilliard School with Cho-Liang Lin and Masao Kawasaki.

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 50 minutes, including one interval

J. Haydn: Violin Concerto No. 1 in C Major, Hob. Vlla:1
Sukhi Kang: Four Seasons of PyeongChang
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Serenade for String Orchestra in C Major, op.48

Sejong Soloists
Sophia Su, Violin

More details

Serenade of Strings

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2019-10-21 21:45

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.