Liu Sha, Music Director and Principal Conductor of the Macao Chinese Orchestra, together with the orchestra, will present the world premiere performance of Fantasy for Macao No. 3, a commissioned work by renowned composer Kuan Nai-chung.

They will also join hands with three virtuosos on different Chinese and Western instruments, opening an East-West dialogue through the fusion of Chinese and Western music. Father-and-daughter duo, celebrated Chinese sheng virtuoso Weng Zhenfa and flute virtuoso Weng Sibei will perform The Legend of the Longing for Husband Cloud, a sheng concerto inspired by a sad yet beautiful Yunnan love folktale, and Sogdian Whirl, a flute concerto filled with charms of Dunhuang music and dance. In addition, young cellist Mo Mo will perform cello concerto Zhuang Zhou’s Dreams, leading the audience into the grand philosophical world of Zhuangzi.

Conductor: Liu Sha
Weng Sibei, Flute
Li Feng, Banhu
Mo Mo, Cello
Weng Zhenfa, Sheng
Macao Chinese Orchestra

Chung Yiu-Kwong: Flute Concerto Sogdian Whirl
Kuan Nai-chung: Banhu Concerto Fantasy for Macao No. 3 (World premiere)
Zhao Jiping: Cello Concerto Zhuang Zhou’s Dreams
Chang Hsiao-Feng: Sheng Concerto The Legend of the Longing for Husband Cloud

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval

More details

Dialogue between the East and the West

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2021-03-24 16:23

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.