With a history of 470 years, the Staatskapelle Dresden is one of the world's oldest orchestra, a leading interpreter of German and Austrian music. Its principal conductor, Christian Thielemann, with his precise grasp of classical music, is one of the most sought-after conductor in the world and deemed the heir of German classical music.

Led by Thielemann, the orchestra will present the complete symphonies by Schumann, the most romantic German composer of the 19th century. Full of Schumann's unique lyrical nature, the poetic Spring Symphony, the enchanting Rhenish Symphony and the ardent and magnificent Symphony No. 4 will be reinterpreted by the Staatskapelle Dresden, bringing back the sentiments, exceptional and innovative musicality of Schumann and the meticulous and substantial texture of the German romantic symphonies.

Duration: approximately 1 hour and 20 minutes, including one interval

R. Schumann
Symphony No. 1 in B-flat Major, op. 38 ("Spring")
Symphony No. 2 in C Major, op. 61

R. Schumann
Symphony No. 3 in E-flat Major, op. 97 ("Rhenish")
Symphony No. 4 in D Minor, op. 120

Conductor: Christian Thielemann
Staatskapelle Dresden

More details

Christian Thielemann andStaatskapelle Dresden

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2018-10-25 21:50

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.