Macao Orchestra’s Easter Concert features Beethoven’s Mass in D major

Soprano Eilana Lappalainen

The Macao Orchestra (OM, from the Portuguese acronym), under the auspices of the Cultural Affairs Bureau, presents the Easter Concert on Thursday and Friday, 24 and 25 March, at 8pm, at St. Dominic’s Church. OM invited specially for these concerts renowned conductor Peter Tiboris, who performs frequently at Carnegie Hall, the Taipei Philharmonic Chorus, internationally renowned soprano Eilana Lappalainen, and three Korean soloists, mezzo Yang Songmi, tenor Shin Dongwon and bass Yoo Ji Hoon, to perform Ludwig van Beethoven’s Mass in C Major and sacred works by Franz Schubert. Admission is free. The Mass in C Major performed in these two concerts is Beethoven’s first mass. The work is appreciated by music critics for its sweet and captivating melodies conveying a sense of tranquillity, devotion and purity. The concerts’ programme also features two sacred works by Franz Schubert, the Stabat Mater, D. 175 and Tantum ergo, D. 962, ritual traditional pieces written for the ceremony of the mass. In these concerts, OM, the Taipei Philharmonic Chorus and several international singers propose an unforgettable evening of stunning sacred music. Admission to the two Easter concerts of the Macao Orchestra is free. Tickets will be distributed at the venue one hour before the performance. Distribution is on a first come, first served basis and is limited to a maximum of two tickets per person. For details and programme enquiries, please visit the OM website at

View gallery

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.