Tickets for the Macao Chinese Orchestra 2017-2018 Concert Season Available for Sale from Tomorrow (7 August)

Macao Chinese Orchestra

The Macao Chinese Orchestra (OCHM, from the Portuguese acronym), under the auspices of the Cultural Affairs Bureau, will embark upon its 2017-2018 concert season in September. Concert tickets will be available for sale from tomorrow (7 August) at the Macau Ticketing Network. The 2017-2018 Season Opening Concert “The Bridge” - Yan Huichang and the Macao Chinese Orchestra will take place on 1 September (Friday), at 8:00 p.m., at the Macao Cultural Centre Grand Auditorium, delivering a magnificent prelude to what shall be the Orchestra’s 30th concert season.

OCHM has always adhered to its principles, namely “rooted in Macao, engaging globally, inheriting the legacy of China and the West and spreading culture”. To celebrate its 30th anniversary, the Orchestra will launch eight new concert series, including the “Classics Series”, “Works of Accomplishment”, “Musical Festivities”, “Heavenly Tunes from Ancient Legacy”, “Strolling in the Garden, Listening to Music”, “Music Inheritance”, “Community Involvement with Music” and “Museum Concerts”, allowing audiences to enjoy the pleasure of music. For the Classics Series, OCHM has invited several renowned conductors who have been performing with the Orchestra over the last three decades to celebrate its anniversary with a series of timeless classical works.

For the 2017-2018 Season Opening Concert “The Bridge” - Yan Huichang and the Macao Chinese Orchestra, the Orchestra has invited the famous conductor Yan Huichang to direct and premiere two works commissioned by OCHM to the composer Robert Zollitsch, Huo shu yin hua (“Fireworks Carnival”) and Qiao (“The Bridge”), as well as to direct Tang xiang (“Tang Resonating”) by composer Ng Cheuk-yin and Bei guan feng (“Beiguan Music”) by composer Wang I-Yu. OCHM has also invited cellist Qin Li-Wei, a rising star acclaimed by The New York Times as having “a great deal going for him, including a meltingly beautiful tone, flawless centered intonation and an ironclad technique”, to perform the Zhuang Zhou meng (“Zhuang Zhou’s Dream”) Cello Concerto in order to open the 2017-2018 Concert Season and the 30th anniversary of the Orchestra.

Tickets for the OCHM 2017-2018 Concert Season will be on sale at the Macau Ticketing Network from 7 August, and several discount packages will be available. These include a 30% discount for BOC credit card or BOC card holders for the purchase of tickets for the 2017-2018 Concert Season Opening Concert “The Bridge” - Yan Huichang and the Macao Chinese Orchestra, “Kingdom and the Beauties” - Liu Sha and the Macao Chinese Orchestra, “The Legend of the Lotus” Works by Liu Xijin - Hong Xia and the Macao Chinese Orchestra and the 2017-2018 Concert Season Closing Concert “Oceanic Silk Road to Europe” - Tsung Yeh and the Macao Chinese Orchestra. Ticketing Hotline: 2855 5555. For more information and enquiries about the 2017-2018 Concert Season program, please visit OCHM’s website at

View gallery

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.