The trio of piano, violin and cello is a common form of chamber music. The timbre of these three instruments can blend and contrast at the same time, as if three like-minded friends with different personalities were having a conversation. This concert, featuring two piano trio works from the late 19th century, will convey the emotional power of Romanticism through Saint-Saëns' French-style delightful presentation and Tchaikovsky's Russian-style poignant expression.

Three skilled young musicians will team up for this concert: violinist Chen Xi was the winner of silver medal in the violin category of the 2002 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow, Russia, at the age of 17; cellist Zhu Mu was a prize winner at the International Music Competition PACEM IN TERRIS in 2006 in Bayreuth, Germany; and pianist Jaya Sun is the first Chinese musician awarded first prize at the Moscow International Frederick Chopin Competition for Young Pianists.

Duration: Approximately 1 hour and 30 minutes, including one interval

C. Saint-Saëns: Piano Trio No. 2 in E Minor, op. 92
P. I. Tchaikovsky: Piano Trio in A Minor, op. 50

Chen Xi, Violin
Zhu Mu, Cello
Jaya Sun, Piano

Outreach Programmes
Violin Masterclass with Chen Xi

More details

Tribute to the Classics – Piano Trio to Commemorate the Centenary of Saint-Saëns' Death (Cancelled)

Content provider: Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC)

Last modified: 2021-10-08 21:50

Is there anything wrong with this page?

Help us improve GOV.MO

* Mandatory field


All information on this site is based on the official language of the Macao Special Administrative Region. The English version is the translation from the Chinese originals and is provided for reference only. If you find that some of the contents do not have an English version, please refer to the Traditional Chinese or Portuguese versions.